skip to main content

  Mission Statement  

The Mission of Escambia County High School is to develop students who are literate, self-disciplined, tolerant, and productive members of society using a variety of experiences within a safe learning environment.

  About The School  

About the School

Image for About the School

Proudly holding the title of the first public high school in the state of Alabama, Escambia County High School is located within the city limits of Atmore, Alabama. We are part of the Escambia County Public School System, and are classified as a 4A, Title I school. There are five public schools located in Atmore, all part of the Escambia County School District. Rachel Patterson Elementary, Huxford Elementary, AC Moore Elementary, and Escambia County Middle School all feed in to Escambia County High School. We are the largest school in Escambia County, with the current enrollment for the 2016-17 school year standing at 457 students. ECHS has its own Career and Technical school located right on campus, offering a variety of options to the students in both academics and vocational education.


Atmore is a small city (population 10,009 (2014-US Census Bureau) surrounded by a large area of rural communities with their own identities. Atmore is a city in Escambia County, Alabama, United States. The city has a culture similar to its neighboring metropolitan of Mobile, Alabama. Atmore is in the planning stages to increase its economic base with additions in its new Rivercane development along the I-65 corridor. The federally recognized Poarch Band of Creek Indians is also headquartered in Atmore. The Holman Correctional Facility of the Alabama Department of Corrections (ADOC) is in unincorporated southwestern Escambia County, 9 miles (14 km) north of Atmore. Holman has a male death row and the State of Alabama execution chamber. In addition Fountain Correctional Facility is about 7 miles (11 km) north of Atmore, in an unincorporated area. Atmore is governed by a mayor and members of a city council elected from five districts within the city.